Taz 6 Archim 2 upgrade

Hi everyone. I flashed the board with the drunken octopus software. My god is it so much quieter. My question is. When I home the machine it does not home to any axis. It homes where e ever it was when turned on. What am I missing? Is the software all I needed or did I have to add to it? I’m fairly new to this and not sure how to fix it. After days of scratching my head I’m at a lose. Any help would be greatly appreciated

1 Like

There are some steps to do once you flash and get everything wired up.

I am in the same position as you - just came across this and it helped a lot:

I had to change my startup code a little bit to warm up. The steps to get calibrated and stored to eeprom worked, but the startup ended up being cold.

Here is my draft at startup code:

Startup G Code Travis Hybrid

; This gcode has been hacked together by Jason to incorporate ABL

M73 P0 ; clear GLCD progress bar

M75 ; start GLCD timer

G90 ; absolute positioning

M82 ; set extruder to absolute mode

G92 E0 ; set extruder position to 0

;TravisRemoved;M140 S{bed_temperature[0]} ; start bed heating up

;TravisRemoved;M190 R{bed_temperature[0]} ; wait for bed to get to temp

M190 R{material_bed_temperature_layer_0} ; start bed heating up

M109 R{material_soften_temperature} ; soften filament before homing Z

M104 S160; start warming extruder to 160

G28 ; Home all axis

G29 A ; enable ABL

G29 L1 ; Load saved mesh from bank 1

G29 J3 ; 3x3 point tilt mesh

;TravisRemoved;M109 R{first_layer_temperature[0]} ; wait for extruder to reach printing temp

M117 Heating… ; progress indicator message on LCD

M109 R{material_print_temperature_layer_0} ; wait for extruder to reach printing temp

M190 R{material_bed_temperature_layer_0} ; wait for bed to reach printing temp

M117 TAZ 6 Printing… ; progress indicator message on LCD

; END_START_GCODE

1 Like